Landed Estates
NUI Galway

Russell (Slane)

Thomas Russell, of Slane or Nobber, county Meath, is recorded as owning almost 700 acres in county Galway in the 1870s. In 1906 Samuel Mortimer Russell held untenanted land at Tobernavean, parish of Athenry, barony of Clare, county Galway. Earlier, the Ordnance Survey Name Books had recorded Lady Russell as the proprietor of townlands in the parish of Athenry in the 1830s. Samuel Russell also held untenanted land in the county Roscommon parishes of Lissonuffy, barony of Roscommon and Kilmore, barony of Ballintober North. On 22 Feb 1911, 1,429 untenanted acres belonging to Dorothy Russell in county Roscommon were vested in the Congested Districts' Board. [It is not clear if all the above persons were related].


Name Townland Civil Parish PLU DED Barony County Map Ref
Tully Lodge Tully Kilmore Carrick on Shannon Kilmore 52 Ballintober North Roscommon OSI Ref: M991 927
OS Sheet: 18
Discovery map: 33
Mount Dillon Mountdillon Lissonuffy Strokestown Lissonuffy 103 Roscommon Roscommon OSI Ref: M999752
OS Sheet: 30
Discovery map: 40