Landed Estates
NUI Galway



Castletown or Cottlestown


Name Description
Morgan (Tireragh) The Morgans were the original owners of the estate in Castlconnor parish, barony of Tireragh, known as both Castletown and/ Cottlestown. The family seem to have been in Sligo since the early 17th century and one was a member of Coote's Regiment of Horse. Hugh Morgan was MP for Sligo, 1692-1712. The estate was later acquired by the Kirkwood family.