Landed Estates
NUI Galway

Firmount

Estate(s)
Townland Firmount
Civil Parish Terryglass
PLU Borrisokane
DED Terryglass 19
County Tipperary
Barony Lower Ormond
Description The seat of the Firman family in the late 18th century, occupied by Thomas P. Terman in 1814. The house is marked on the first edition Ordnance Survey map. The Ordnance Survey Name Books refer to it as "the mansion house of Firmount now falling into ruins, It appears to be a ruin by the time of Griffith's Valuation. The only buildings over £10 valuation were the Santa Cruise flour mill and house of Samuel Palmer. The Irish Tourist Association surveyor records "an extremely charming house converted from stabling" at Firmount and occupied by Major H.H. Deasy in the early 1940s. The surveyor states that the original house was destroyed by fire.

Property Location