Landed Estates
NUI Galway

Farrer (Limerick)

At the time of Griffith's Valuation William D. Farrer held at least five townlands in the parish of Killeenagarriff, barony of Clanwilliam, county Limerick and a large estate in county Tipperary in the parishes of Nenagh, barony of Upper Ormond, Aglishcloghane, Dorrha, Finnoe, Kilbarron, Knigh and Monsea, barony of Lower Ormond. In the 1870s William Dent Farrar of Gurtalougha, Borrisokane, owned 8,297 acres in county Tipperary and Richard Henry Farrer of Mitchelstown Castle, owned 801 acres county Limerick.

Associated Families


Name Townland Civil Parish PLU DED Barony County Map Ref
River Ville [Mulkear] Ballyvarra Wood Killeenagarriff Limerick Ballyvarra 46 Clanwilliam Limerick OSI Ref: R678 548
OS Sheet: 14
Discovery map: 65
Mitchelstown Castle Mitchelstown Brigown Mitchelstown Mitchelstown 298 Condons & Clangibbon Cork OSI Ref: R808 132
OS Sheet: 19
Discovery map: 74
Gurthalougha Ballinderry Kilbarron Borrisokane Kilbarron 10 Lower Ormond Tipperary OSI Ref: R831 974
OS Sheet: 6
Discovery map: 53
River View (Knigh) Ballyhogan Knigh Nenagh Knigh 86 Lower Ormond Tipperary OSI Ref: R835843
OS Sheet: 14
Discovery map: 59